General Newspaper

Monday, February 27, 2017

List the functions provided by the paper, such as news, advertising, reviews, etc. How would these functions be met in a society without papers?

Activity Category: 
Monday, February 20, 2017

Search the paper to find and list all mentions of presidents.

Activity Category: 
Monday, February 13, 2017

Look through the newspaper for photos/stories about a school or district. Have students find articles in these categories: News, Features, and Sports.

Activity Category: 
Monday, February 6, 2017

Gather several newspaper articles, separate the headlines from the articles then have the students reunite the stories and their headlines.

Activity Category: 
Monday, January 30, 2017

Read and keep the editorials in the paper for one week. Decide whether the writer logically or emotionaly constructed the pieces. Classify the editorials as being explanatory, praiseworthy, critical, entertaining or persuasive.

Activity Category: 
Monday, January 23, 2017

Choose an editorial from the editorial page and note each fact and each opinion within the writing. Discuss what you found.

Activity Category: 
Monday, January 16, 2017

Choose a story from the front page. Find the answers to these questions: Who? What? When? Where? Why?

Activity Category: 
Monday, January 9, 2017

Find five stories in the St. Louis Post-Dispatch about different cities then research to find the newspapers in those cities.

Activity Category: 
Monday, January 2, 2017

Read an article about a dishonest person. What was done, were there consequences and what would you have done?

Activity Category: 
Monday, December 19, 2016

Find and label an example of each of the following: index, byline, cutline, dateline and headline.

Activity Category: