Four St. Louis area schools named as National Blue Ribbon schools

Four St. Louis area schools earned the National Blue Ribbon honor this year.

They are:

• Mallinckrodt Academy of Gifted Instruction, St. Louis Public Schools

• Mark Twain Elementary, Brentwood School District

• Chesterfield Elementary, Rockwood School District

• Rogers Elementary, Waterloo School District

The U.S. Department of Education awards the title each year to select schools for high academic performance or progress in closing the achievement gap among racial and socioeconomic minorities.

See the list of all 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools here.

This year, eight Missouri schools — all of them public, including one Kansas City charter school — and 25 Illinois schools received the award. In total, 242 schools received the honor.

“These schools have done outstanding work in preparing their students to succeed,” said Missouri Education Commissioner Margie Vandeven in a statement Thursday. “Congratulations to the school leaders, teachers, students and communities on this national recognition.”

More than 8,500 schools in the American states and territories, Department of Defense Education Activity and Bureau of Indian Education have received the honor in the past 35 years.